ICC – Cricket World Cup – 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Come 30 May 2019, cricket fans around the world will be glued to their televisions as the highly anticipated 12th ICC Cricket World Cup starts. The first match is between South Africa and host country England, setting the scene for an exciting competition.

As the tournament draws closer, Readers Jam takes a look at the countries that have previously won the ICC Cricket World Cup as well as a few dark horses to watch out for.


Australia has won five of their seven finals appearances, making them the most successful nation in ICC Cricket World Cup history. This good form started with the very first World Cup, where they reached the final but lost by 17 runs to West Indies. While currently only sixth in the ICC ODI rankings, Australia’s past performance makes them one of the strongest contenders in this year’s tournament.


Indian Squad For 2019
Indian Squad For 2019

One of the most successful nations in ICC Cricket World Cup history, India have played in three finals and won two titles. They last lifted the trophy in 2011, where they defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets. This win also ended Australia’s reign of three successive victories.

West Indies

Like India, West Indies have also competed in three finals and lifted two trophies, but their success seems to have ended before the start of the millennium. Their last final appearance was in 1983, where they lost to India by 43 runs at Lord’s Stadium in London, England.

Sri Lanka

Although Sri Lanka won their one and only ICC Cricket World Cup title back in 1996, they came desperately close in 2007 and 2011, losing to Australia and India respectively in the finals. They are currently ranked eighth in ICC ODI rankings, but that doesn’t mean Sri Lanka will be an easy match for any nation this year.


Pakistan’s only ICC Cricket World Cup win was in 1992, where they defeated England by 22 runs. Since then, they’ve played in just one other final, 20 years ago, where they lost to Australia. Being the sixth most populous country in the world with over 200 million citizens, Pakistan certainly have the support of a large community to spur them on.


Home to Lord’s Stadium, also known as the ‘home of cricket’, England will host this year’s tournament for a record fifth time. Despite having had the home advantage multiple times, England have never won the ICC Cricket World Cup, but have come close with three finals appearances. Their current first-place standing in the ICC ODI rankings may give them the edge they need to finally win.

New Zealand

New Zealand will try to improve on their successes in the last ICC Cricket World Cup, where they played in their first final. The country is just ahead of South Africa in the ICC ODI rankings and the trophy is definitely within their reach.

South Africa

Despite our success in smaller cricket tournaments, South Africa has never played in an ICC Cricket World Cup final, a bitter disappointment for fans. Some believe the Proteas are cursed, such as former national coach, Gary Kirsten, who once famously stated, ‘It’s definitely a dark mist that hangs over South African cricket in knockout events.’

Bangladesh And Afghanistan

Though these two teams have not performed fairly well in International circuit over the past few years, it would be mistake to take these two underdog teams lightly. Especially after performances by the stars from both the teams like Shakib and Rashid and Nabi in the recently concluded IPL.

Participating Teams In 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup
Participating Teams In 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup


Will 2019 be the year our national cricket team finally breaks the curse and makes it to an ICC Cricket World Cup final? No matter who wins, there’s no doubt that this year’s tournament is going to bowl cricket fans away.

Post Author: readersjam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *